Trophée Chopard 2024 Sophie Wilde and Mike Faist are honored with the award for international cinema’s up-and-coming generation

The Académie du Trophée Chopard has voted actress Sophie Wilde and actor Mike Faist as the Laureates of the 2024 edition. Annually awarded since 2001 at the initiative of Caroline Scheufele, the Trophée Chopard is presented to two actors with promising careers at an official dinner of the Cannes Film Festival – to which Chopard is an official partner. Sophie Wilde and Mike Faist will receive their awards on May 17th 2024 from Demi Moore, the Godmother chosen by Caroline Scheufele for the Trophée Chopard 2024 ceremony.

Sophie Wilde

Sophie Wilde most recently appeared on screens as the lead in Talk to Me. Labelled the ‘scariest horror movie of 2023’, the project quickly became A24’s highest grossing film of the year. Sophie Wilde won the AACTA for ‘Best Female Lead’ for her performance, in a category that included Cate Blanchett and Sarah Snook, and was nominated for BAFTA’s EE Rising Star Award. She will next appear in Babygirl, alongside Nicole Kidman and Harris Dickinson.

In addition, Sophie Wilde recently led in Everything Now for Netflix, written by Ripley Parker, in which the actress took on the role of Mia, opposite Stephen Fry. The series was celebrated by critics, with her performance in particular receiving praise. She also featured in Netflix’s Boy Swallows Universe, opposite Phoebe Tonkin.

Further onscreen credits include You Don’t Know MeTom Jones, The Portable Door and Eden. A 2019 graduate of NIDA, Sophie Wilde, made her stage debut at The Sydney Opera House, as Ophelia in the Bell Shakespeare Company’s production of Hamlet.

Mike Faist

Mike Faist can most recently be seen in Luca Guadagnino’s tennis drama Challengers alongside Zendaya and Josh O’Connor which released in theaters this year. He will also appear this summer in The Bikeriders, a film directed by Jeff Nichols starring Austin Butler, Tom Hardy, Jodie Comer, and Norman Reedus. His prior film credits include West Side Story, Wildling, The Grief of Others, The Atlantic City Story, and Pinball: The Man Who Saved the Game.

An acclaimed stage actor, last summer Mike Faist starred as Jack Twist in Brokeback Mountain at London’s Soho Palace, featuring songs by Dan Gillespie Sells and direction by Jonathan Butterell. He originated the role of Connor Murphy in the international megahit Dear Evan Hansen, which earned him a Grammy Award® and a Tony nomination. His additional New York theatre credits include Steven Levenson’s Days of Rage, A Month in the Country and Branden Jacobs-Jenkins’ Appropriate.

The Trophée Chopard

Since 2001, the Trophée Chopard has been annually awarded to an actress and to an actor at the start of their career. Through this prize created by Caroline Scheufele to support the up-and-coming generation of international cinema talent, the Maison reaffirms its unconditional love for the seventh art. The two winners are chosen by the Académie du Trophée Chopard, composed of Laureated, Godmothers and Godfathers from previous editions of the Trophée.

From Marion Cotillard (Oscar for Best Actress in 2008) to Léa Seydoux (Palme d’or in 2013), as well as Diane Kruger (Best Actress Award at Cannes in 2017), Niels Schneider (2017 César Best Male Newcomer Award), along with Florence Pugh and Jessie Buckley who were nominated for Oscars just a few months after being awarded the Trophée Chopard in 2019 and 2021, the laureates of the Trophée Chopard have consistently confirmed the hopes placed in them.

The Trophée Chopard 2024 will be awarded on May 17th during the 77th Cannes Film Festival, at an official dinner presided over by Iris Knobloch, Thierry Frémaux and Caroline Scheufele, with Demi Moore serving as the Godmother to this year’s edition.